Theatres fit for the **future**



Ref.: TC/271

25 February 2025

Amy Brown Nuneaton Town Hall Coton Road Nuneaton CV11 5AA

By e-mail: Amy.Brown@nuneatonandbedworth.gov.uk

Application: 040789

Site: Abbey Street, Nuneaton, Warwickshire, , CV11 5BX

Proposal: Application for approval of details reserved by condition. (040315)

Remit:

Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. We were established through the Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres' and provide statutory planning advice on theatre buildings and theatre use in England through The Town and Country Planning (Development Management Procedure) (England) Order 2015, requiring the Trust to be consulted by local authorities on planning applications which include 'development involving any land on which there is a theatre'.

Comment:

Thank you for consulting Theatres Trust on this application for approval of details in relation to conditions 3 and 4 of permission reference 040315 at the former Ritz, Nuneaton.

Condition 3 restricts replacement of external doors and windows unless details are

Theatres Trust

22 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0QL

 Telephone
 020
 7836
 8591
 Email info@theatrestrust.org.uk
 Website
 theatrestrust.org.uk
 Twitter
 @ TheatresTrust

 Facebook
 @theatres.trust
 Instagram
 @TheatresTrust
 Instagram
 @TheatresTrust

 Chair Dave Moutrey OBE
 Director Jon Morgan

 Trustees Vicky Browning OBE, Anna Collins, James Dacre, Suba Das, Liam Evans-Ford, Stephanie Hall, Annie Hampson, Tracy Ann Oberman, Lucy Osborne, Saratha Rajeswaran, Truda Spruyt, Michèle Taylor MBE, Katie Town

The Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. The Theatres Trust Charitable Fund supports the work of The Theatres Trust, has the same Trustees and is registered as a charity under number 274697

Theatres fit for the **future**



provided to the satisfaction of the council. The elevation drawings submitted with this application state on an annotation that all existing windows will be replaced in a similar style utilising white painted metal frames as is current the case (although on the diagram these appear to be grey and the note at the bottom says black). Whilst the colour palette might be further clarified we have no objection to use of an alternative colour to white providing it is sensitive to the building's character and significance, as we consider the illustrations to be. In line with Historic England guidance, and to minimise environmental impact, we encourage refurbishment and re-use as a first priority before looking to replacement. However, if replacement is deemed necessary we can support the applicant's approach.

The external doorways around the building, other than those around the foyer, will be replaced with security doors in a black colour with additional strength. This is important for the ongoing security of the venue and we consider them to represent an improvement in function and sensitivity compared to those already existing. We also support the insertion of glazing around the foyer.

We can therefore support the approval of details in relation to condition 3.

Condition 4 seeks details of internal finishes to walls and ceilings within public areas of the building. This application seeks partial discharge, with the applicant stating they will sand, fill and paint the interior walls of the foyer and auditorium and that this will not affect decorative features. There is no further detail other than a brief summary of pre-application advice, on the assumption the works are necessary to repair damage and deterioration this can be supported in principle. Filling should be undertaken utilising appropriate materials. Again, assuming that is the case, we can support partial discharge.

Please contact us if we may be of further assistance or should you wish to discuss these comments in further detail.

Clare

Tom Clarke MRTPI National Planning Adviser

 Theatres Trust

 22 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0QL

 Telephone 020 7836 8591
 Email info@theatrestrust.org.uk

 Website theatrestrust.org.uk Twitter @TheatresTrust

 Facebook @theatres.trust
 Instagram @TheatresTrust

 Chair Dave Moutrey OBE
 Director Jon Morgan

 Trustees Vicky Browning OBE, Anna Collins, James Dacre, Suba Das, Liam Evans-Ford, Stephanie Hall, Annie Hampson, Tracy Ann Oberman, Lucy Osborne, Saratha Rajeswaran, Truda Spruyt, Michèle Taylor MBE, Katie Town

The Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. The Theatres Trust Charitable Fund supports the work of The Theatres Trust, has the same Trustees and is registered as a charity under number 274697