## Theatres fit for the **future**



Ref.: TC/1075

29 January 2025

South Planning Team Development Planning City of Westminster PO Box 732 Redhill RH1 9FL

By e-mail: <a href="mailto:southplanningteam@westminster.gov.uk">southplanningteam@westminster.gov.uk</a>

Application: 25/00051/FULL

Site: Harold Pinter Theatre Panton Street London SW1Y 4DN

**Proposal:** Replacement of existing scenery dock door with a new thermal and

acoustic scenery dock door on the Oxendon Street elevation.

### Remit:

Theatres Trust is the national advisory public body for theatres. We were established through the Theatres Trust Act 1976 'to promote the better protection of theatres' and provide statutory planning advice on theatre buildings and theatre use in England through The Town and Country Planning (Development Management Procedure) (England) Order 2015, requiring the Trust to be consulted by local authorities on planning applications which include 'development involving any land on which there is a theatre'.

### Comment:

Thank you consulting Theatres Trust on this application for planning permission at the Howard Pinter Theatre. It seeks to replace the existing scenery dock door.

The doorway is located to the theatre's Oxendon Street (north-east) elevation. The

#### **Theatres Trust**

22 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0QL

Trustees Vicky Browning OBE, Anna Collins, James Dacre, Suba Das, Liam Evans-Ford, Stephanie Hall, Annie Hampson, Tracy Ann Oberman, Lucy Osborne, Saratha Rajeswaran, Truda Spruyt, Michèle Taylor MBE, Katie Town

# Theatres fit for the **future**



replacement door is of similar scale and appearance to the existing and will provide enhanced insulation and acoustic protection which is to be welcomed.

We therefore support the granting of planning permission.

Please contact us if we may be of further assistance or should you wish to discuss these comments in further detail.

Tom Clarke MRTPI

National Planning Adviser

22 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0QL

Trustees Vicky Browning OBE, Anna Collins, James Dacre, Suba Das, Liam Evans-Ford, Stephanie Hall, Annie Hampson, Tracy Ann Oberman, Lucy Osborne, Saratha Rajeswaran, Truda Spruyt, Michèle Taylor MBE, Katie Town